State of the Park

Ynys y Pandy Slate Mill

alt=View from Snowdon Summit

Built Environment

Listed Buildings

The listing process ensures that buildings of 'special architectural or historic interest' are placed on a list and afforded statutory protection. The number and grade of Listed Buildings in Snowdonia is shown below. Cadw are currently re-surveying Community Council areas within the National Park. Six areas remain to be surveyed and the number of Listed Building is expected to rise to approximately 1900.

Buildings ‘At Risk’

Buildings ‘At Risk’ are defined as those Listed, or traditional buildings of important architectural merit, which are under threat. The number of buildings on the register maintained by the Authority varies as buildings are repaired and are removed from the register and as surveys reveal further buildings to be at risk.

Conservation Areas

Conservation Areas are areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which is desirable to preserve. They are a statutory designation and they help to ensure the positive management of buildings within them and their character.

There are fourteen Conservation Areas in Snowdonia. These are Betws y Coed, Beddgelert, Nantmor, Dolbenmaen, Maentwrog, Bala, Harlech, Dolgellau, Cymmer Abbey, Pant y Rodyn, Aberdyfi, Abergwyngregyn, Llanllechid and Nant Peris.

(Source: Snowdonia National Park Authority, 2005).

Historic Battlefields

There are no historic battlefields in the National Park.